Bedford County History Museum
The Fly Arts Center is the home of The Bedford County History Museum, which displays a wealth of unique items that tell the history of Bedford County, Tennesee.
Established in 1807, citizens of Rutherford County living south of the Duck River and the Stones River successfully petitioned the governor to split Rutherford County in two. The new county was named after American Revolutionary War officer and large landowner in the area, Thomas Bedford.
Once the state's largest and most populous county, Bedford County's size (in terms of area) has been steadily reduced since 1809 to form Coffee County, Moore County, Lincoln County, and Marshall County.
Bedford County History Museum Curators
Museum Manager - Gene Williams
Assistant Docent - Terry Cooper